Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current modern society, Internet plays an increasingly important role and all governments have to present suitable Internet connection throughout their country. Some people feel that Internet access should be free, while others hold the opposite view. I, personally, believe that all governments should provide their people with free Internet. The reasons why I feel this way are explored in the following essay.

To begin with, having free Internet access leads to a reduction in air pollution. In recent years the Internet has changed the way people used to do many tasks. Hence, as long as people have free access to the Internet, they are encouraged to use online services such as e-shopping instead of driving their own cars in the city. So, free Internet results in fewer cars and a healthier environment. For example, last week, I read an article in a major newspaper about how Internet affects environment. According to that article, the countries in which Internet costs less have about 30 % less air pollution issues than those without.

Moreover, offering free Internet means providing many opportunities for people in a society to acquire knowledge. As we all know, nowadays tons of online books and articles can be found online at no cost. Hence, when people have free Internet, they are more eager to download these resources and start reading them, an option which seems not so desirable when they have to pay for Internet. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman student, I lived in campus dormitory, where the students were provided free and unlimited Internet access. During that year, my main pastime activity was to surf the web and download any books or article that seemed interesting. As a result, I read so many books that year. In contrast, the next year, I did not read so many books, because I had rented an apartment off campus, and I had to pay my own Internet bill. This example clearly demonstrates how free Internet can motivates people to acquire knowledge.

Admittedly, free Internet would cost lots of money for the government. They should assign a considerable amount of their budgets for Internet. However, I believe that governments can impose tax put a direct tax for companies which are publishing their advertisements on the Internet. This way, the financial concern of the governments will be solved.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in order to reduce air pollution and increase the people’s knowledge, the governments should offer free Internet to their citizens, even if this is of the cost of coming up with new ideas to solve its financial burden.