Agree/ Disagree: The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As technology evolves, people are more informed about the lifestyle of celebrities and famous figures through internet. Some people believe that celebrities have had as much impact on older people as on the youth. However, I think that the influence of these stars on younger people’s life is more significant. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, juveniles are more exposed to advertisements than older people due to their constant presence in social media applications such as instagram or facebook. Famous people have lots of followers on these social medias, and a huge percentage of these followers are young people. Through surfing the personal pages of these celebrities they encounter many advertisement that seem very attractive. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Three years ago, I was really into running. I have started reading articles to learn to become a good runner, I exercised a lot and was searching in the internet all day to learn more about running. I encountered a famous runner’s page on Instagram. He shared daily tips about diet and other necessary things for a good runner. He also advertised daily for the company, whose shoes he wore at his contests. At first I tried to ignore that advertisement, but he repeated it so many times that finally I bought that shoe, which I never used! This example clearly demonstrates the power of celebrities in social medias.

Secondly, younger people are not experienced enough and they don’t exactly know what they should do, so they are always trying to find a hero, whom they can follow. As a result, they are searching for a role model. In contrast, older people are mature enough to understand that they are the most influential person in their lives. For example, when my brother was a school student, he was enthusiastic about physics. So, he searched to find a physicist that impress him. When he found Leonard Susskind, his world changed. He saw his speeches on youtube, read his interviews and wanted to imitate what he was doing to become a remarkable physicist like Susskind. Had he not known Susskind, he wouldn’t be so motivated today about this major.

In conclusion, I do agree that the opinions of famous people have a more profound impact on youth than older people. That’s because younger people are more exposed to advertisement and because they are always in search of a hero to follow.