Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the proposed statement. In my perspective, it is so much essential to understand ideas and concepts than just learning facts. There are many reasons and personal experience why I hold this view, I will have mentioned some of them below.

I think educational systems must pay attention to that students understand concepts and ideas. What students need, is to know how they must use their knowledge at work in their future, just learning some facts will not be useful. Also, if students understand concepts very well, as a result, they will understand its fellow concepts and ideas. It is true for all lessons and knowledge especially mathematics and physics.

For example, when I was a student at high school I had very good teachers who did care that I and my classmates perceive lessons. She always expressed natural and general examples that we saw and touched them in our daily lives. When I came to the university, I could understand new lessons so well, and I found that my teachers what the favor did to me, and I appreciated it.

For another example, my professors in the university always made me research and experience the facts in my graduate field. they were restricted to me and what they want from me was very difficult and took me much time, my free times were so short and I thought they are bothering me. After that when I got a job at a company, I felt that my works are so easy to do, I am so grateful to my professors.

As I explained and exampled, can be concluded that studying and educating is not just learning some facts, it is deeply understanding concepts and doing well.