Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout centuries, this issue that the governments how to allocate their budgets have always been crucial subject since it has widespread consequences and outcomes. With this in mind, some people believe that improving access to the internet has more priority rather than improving public transportation, while others look at this concept from a distinctive perspective and hold this opinion that improving public transportation brings about more direct and indirect advantages in comparison to improving internet access. I, personally, subscribe to the latter group for quite a few reasons, two of which are as follow.

For one thing, the pivotal burden of any government is to provide the health and safety of its members and citizens and improving public transportation has direct impact on these two elements. In other words, by improving public transportation like buses, airplanes, trains and so on governments are able to prevent from a great number of accidents due to technical imperfections and old devices. A great example of this issue is some countries in which there are insufficient attention towards integrity of public transportation system, and each day we listen or watch in news that too many accidents happens in such countries. Additionally, by improving the public transportation system not only can societies access to healthy environment but governments can save their budgets on spending thier money on reducing air and water pollution as well. To consistents with this issue, statistically proved that the countries which have improved public transportation system have less pollution particles in air and water and consequently have less health problems.

Another equally momentous point that should be mentioned is that improving public transportation cause indirect cascade benefits. What I mean is, by mentioned approach, citizens prefer to use public vehicles rather that their personal cars and as a results there would be less traffic jams in streets. This brings about more advantages since not only can people reach to their offices in time, but they also do not become frustrated and tired in the way to go to their work. Hence, people have more proficiency during work hours and they have better performance and satisfaction since they do not lose quite a bit time in traffic. To illustrate my point of view, I would like to provide a quote from Oprah Winfrey who once said:” Improving transportation system is not a task that easily be ignored and if do, both governments and citizens would be affected. This clearly indicates the importance of improving transportation system in comparison to any plan.

To sum it up, according to all reasons that discussed above, I, strongly, agree that improving public transportation system is more prominent than improving internet access since this approach not only do help the health and safety of society members be guaranteed, but also brings about more proficiency and better performance and as a result satisfaction among citizens.