Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Making and being in relationships is a very basic trait of humans. Man is a social animal, so he requires bond with others to survive in this world. I personally feel that, there can be nothing better than maintaining friendship lifelong. I think this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, it is not very easy to make good friends, as it is a time consuming process. We meet so many new people in our lives on daily basis, but not with everybody ,we become friends. It is not mandatory that we connect with everyone, we have bonding with. For instance, I am an extrovert having a long list of people I share good relation with, but I hardly have five to six devoted friends with whom I spend time and share my life. I believe, only true friends can stand with us in hard times and support us in every way possible. So, keeping those gems is worth it.

Moreover, some bonds are god gifted like, mother, father, siblings etc. While other connections like friendship, are self-chosen. We meet different people at different stages of our lives, some bonds remain forever while some are only for a certain period. People we choose as our good friends can only understand us and we can not expect this from someone we just met a short time ago. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Five years back, when I met with an accident, my childhood friend not only took good care of me but also she was aware of my medical history; Which turned out to be very beneficial for my case in the hospital and helped doctors give me a better treatment.

In conclusion, celebrating an old friendship is more important than making new friends, as friendship is a bond that gets secure with time. As much as bond we share with an old friend, will take a very long time to have that much connection with a new friend.