Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Colleges and universities play important role in enhancing a student's overall personality. Not only in academics but also in extra curricular activities like: sports,stage performances, character development,and other social activities. Personally, i believe that, educational institutes should definitely give equal preference and financial support to sports and social activities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which i will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there is no doubt that sports gives us tremendous health benefits not only physically but also mentally. There is enough scientific proof that how involvement in physical activities like exercises, games and sports adds quality to life. As, students spend a long span of three to four years at colleges and universities, and if they are only involved in academic studies, they may face health related problems and lack of fitness, which can further result in several diseases. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When i was in my college three years ago, i was totally focused on my studies only and never used to participate in extra curricular activities. There was no sports club in my college, due to which,we students had no option to involve ourselves in physical activities, that contributes to our overall personality both mentally and physically. When i passed out of my college and applied for army services, i was twenty kilograms overweight and got rejected. That moment i realised the profit of adding sports and other physical activities in our routines to stay fit in life.

Additionally, social activities like, dance club, acting club, sports club and other social work clubs for society development, enhance the student's temperament. As well as, engagement in these activities boosts mood and keep away depression like issues. Taking part in tasks related to hobbies and interests keeps a person happier and more lively. For instance, in a research done on two groups of people consisting ten members each, were given a week to prepare for a general knowledge exam. They were provided with proper required materials and books. Group A was told to focus only on studies while group B was given a two hours sports period each day. Finally after a week exam was conducted and unsurprisingly group B performed far better than group A. Possible reasons for this difference could be that group A got bored with studies easily and their brains attained saturation level,on the other hand, group B was given an activity to fresh up their minds and study more efficiently.

In conclusion, i strongly feel that educational institutes must include extra curricular activities like sports and other recreational activities and should also provide funding similar to academic classes and libraries. This is because social activities and sports are equally crucial for overall personality development of students with added health benefits.