Grades encourage students to work harder at school Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

There is no shortage of debate about whether grades inspire students to do hard work. I agree with the presented statement. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in following essay.

First and foremost, grades provide a clear picture, that where we stand in a particular criteria, whether it be an academic exam or some sport. It makes our vision crystal clear about the scope of improvement. My personal life experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, I had my board exams. Our school conducted pre-boards to make students aware about the areas they require improvement in, as well as the subjects they need to work harder. Although, I was not satisfied with my mathematics score. I realised that I need to pay extra attention on some of the chapters I was weak in.

Furthermore, grades not only motivate us to perform excellent and give our hundred percent, but also create environment for competition because everyone wants to stand first in the class. For instance, when I was in my eighth standard, we were given a science assignment and we were divided into teams of six people each. All of us were fighting for A+ grade, so that we can get extra five marks in the written exam. We were competing with full enthusiasm; as a result of which, almost every student performed well and got good grades as well.

In addition, grades also work as a reward. A good grade is the thing students work harder for. If there were no grading systems, students would never been able to know their position in the class. As we are taught by the same teachers, but grades distinguish us from others and make us to recognise our calibre. For example, two students after being taught from the same tutor perform so differently in the exams and grades make them intelligent or poor student. Not only this, grades also act as proof of our performance; like, a report card decides whether we should be promoted to next class or not. So this is how grades are crucial.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that, grades are very beneficial for student's life, that pushes them to give their best. Grades clear our doubts about our worth as well as create healthy competitive environment. Also, grading system acts as a boon, as it encourages students to work upto their excellence.