Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Within our life trajectory, we are always faced with the dilemma of choosing between new reporters who have ideas and beliefs similar to us and those who are out of step with us. Some people may hold the view that they should always listen to similar ideas to reinforce them. However, others may take the opposite opinion and believe that exposure to contrasting ideas can broaden their horizons and gives them the opportunity to think about what is going on around them from other standpoints. I personally incline towards the latter opinion. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason and maybe the most important one is that as I have mentioned, being exposed to diverse and wide perspectives offers us the chance to see different phenomena skeptically. It allows us to suspect what we have believed in, and this feature is especially important when we are concerned about detecting the most appropriate way to behave or carry out things. It frequently happens to me that I had thought that something is true. Nevertheless, it turned out that I was mistaken, and there were better solutions to a problem or better attitudes towards an issue. Thinking skeptically is the first step to find the truth. If we listen to the news which only strengthens our beliefs, we will probably miss the opportunity to follow better roads.

My second reason is that some news agencies may censor parts of the news that contradict and weaken their own beliefs and ideas. It is because they are often sponsored by a particular person or organization that advocates certain beliefs and is reluctant to lay another path for listeners since encouraging ideas and beliefs different from theirs may endanger their power or position. As a result, they strongly prefer to reinforce what they believe in and what they are dedicated to. I think we should be cognizant of the fact that many news are biased and we are supposed to look at them through the lens of incredulity.

Lastly, I think our permanent exposure to the same ideas may pose an acute danger to us, and that is the possibility of the formation of a variety of extreme beliefs in our mind, which are less likely to be changed further in our life; then we are less likely to tolerate people with opinions other than ours and lose the opportunity to live peacefully near other people. We will spoil many friendly relationships and limit our social network if we cannot develop a kind of tolerance for other views. To acquire the ability to tolerate others, we need to have exposure to contrasting ideas.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that we should listen to news reporters who have ideas and opinions different from what we have. Some reasons, like having the opportunity to think differently and skeptically, gaining the ability to tolerate other people, and avoiding being exposed to biased news, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and ideas challenging this claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that we should not miss the opportunity of exposure to different ideas.