Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, the necessity of having access to internet services has raised a lot of debate among academicians. Some may take the opinion that the benefits of providing extensive access to the internet cannot outweigh its disadvantages for a plethora of reasons. However, others may hold the opposite viewpoint and believe that nowadays the internet seems like a great highway and the lives of many people depend on having access to convenient and affordable internet services. I personally incline towards the latter opinion. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason and maybe the most important one is that as I have mentioned, many businesses and financial activities today rely on the internet on an incredible scale. Therefore, their success or failure can be determined based on their accessibility to fast and cheap internet services. In contrast to the past, many modern-day companies advertise on the internet and their decision-makers have exerted great attempts to draw people's attention via social media and advertisements spread on the website pages. Many people also endeavor to meet their requirements by searching on the internet since this way, they are able to save a great deal of time and energy. They prefer to shop on online websites instead of driving their cars, finding an empty parking lot, and then shopping around in the shopping centers, which is very time-consuming and inconvenient. Not only does online shopping cost people less time, but also it gives them the opportunity to enjoy discounts offered on online websites which try to attract more and more consumers.

My second reason is that the growth of scientific research depends on the internet to a large extent. Today, many researchers and scientists publish their papers on the website journals instead of printing them on the printed magazines. Hence, if the government wants to guarantee a great level of science production, it entails providing suitable and cheap access to the internet for the scientific community. This way, they have the opportunity to keep up with their counterparts in other countries. We all know how fast science is developed today and it will be very awkward to compensate in the future if we cannot catch up today.

Lastly, I think the internet has appeared to be an enjoyable form of entertainment for a broad range of people. Many people would rather spend their leisure time surfing the internet or playing online games instead of going out. This may cause many problems for both society and individuals. However, from my point of view, it is a matter of personal preference to determine which kind we want to spend our time, and we should have access to all of the possible solutions.