Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Nowadays supervisors and professors use different ways to assign classroom or work tasks to employees or students. Some of them prefer to communicate about a project in person. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that convey messages indirectly is a much better way in order to save time. Everyone has a special goal in their mind, which encourages them to behave in the way they consider more reasonable. Thus, I cannot explain all the motives people have behind their decision. I personally prefer to communicate directly with people when I want to discuss a subject and assign a project. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason and maybe the most important one is that always communicating directly with colleagues and students is a better way to convey thoughts, ideas, and expectations. Not only does it give people the opportunity to talk with their supervisor easily and report their difficulties in time, but it also provides a great environment to solve misconceptions and potential mistakes. Sometimes students or employees interpret a sentence in an e-mail different from the meaning writer had in their mind, which leads the readers to follow the wrong path and waste a lot of time, energy, and even financial resources.

My second reason is that many people do not check their e-mails regularly, and they may read them once a week or even later. That's why sending e-mail is not always the most trustworthy and reliable strategy to keep in touch with other people. Some people also ignore some information written in an e-mail and do not read the whole idea presented. It indeed depends on the mood of readers and the time of the day they scroll up their e-mails and check them. In addition, mail systems sometimes have flaws, which interfere with sending e-mail appropriately without informing the one who wrote the e-mail. Such events may cause many avoidable conflicts between people who do not easily understand the problem.

Lastly, this way, managers and professors have the opportunity to talk gently with people and form a warm and friendly atmosphere, which may be helpful in inculcating team spirit in others. The mutual trust and sense of respect established between employees and their boss, or student and their professors, may lead to a sense of responsibility that cannot be achieved in other forms of communication. If I use my sense of humor, for example, in a serious meeting, my colleagues tend to give a lot of consideration to their tasks because they regard me as a trustworthy person who is willing to help and care about them in difficult situations. They don't afraid of my attitudes anymore since they are cognizant of the fact that I am their friends, not their rivals.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, there is a myriad of reasons that convince me to support the idea of communicating directly with my colleagues or students. Some of them, such as solving probable mistakes and problems, having the opportunity to convey the whole idea of a project, and forming a friendly relationship, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are other reasons and ideas challenging this claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that communicating directly with people always provides the most benefits.