Why do people work?

There are a plethora of reasons explaining why people work. Everyone has something particular in their mind that encourages them to pursue a career. Therefore, I am not able to discuss all the motives people have for working, but I will point out the most outstanding reasons from my point of view.

The first reason and maybe the most prominent one is related to the people's need for making money somehow to meet their daily life requirements. Depending on the quality of their life, people are used to planning and determining how much money they need to achieve a certain standard of life. Some people feel complacent when only their basic needs, such as food, accommodation, and clothing, are covered. However, others might prefer to have more sophisticated lifestyles. Some are attached to regular traveling, and some feel they should change the furniture and equipment of their house once a year. Anyway, maintaining a lifestyle of any quality level requires people to carry out some kind of work and acquire a certain amount of money. Otherwise, they may face many financial, mental, or even physical difficulties, just like now that many people have lost their job after the emergence of the Coronavirus crisis. According to statistical data, the conflicts between family members have risen significantly mainly as a consequence of financial problems.

Secondly, one of the most determining factors in a healthy and happy life is having the feeling of being helpful as an individual. Everyone needs to be regarded as an asset in society, and having a suitable job helps people satisfy this need. People surely don't like to stay home and waste their time playing computer games or reading newspapers. Time is more valuable, and not everything is worth it. Thus, doing work not only helps up earn some money but also gives us the feeling of being valuable to society.

Thirdly, doing any type of job definitely helps up learn important personal and professional skills, which we can use in our personal life too. Doing a job improves our ability to communicate with other people, to play our role, to deal successfully with problems, to be considerate towards others, and to work and think together. It helps us get out of our comfort zone and try something new. Without having a job, we remain isolated and miss many opportunities to improve and develop our capabilities. Not only do our technical achievements help us do our personal tasks at home, but also communication and collaboration skills acquired during work help us make good judgments and decisions in everyday life.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, there is a myriad of reasons that persuade us to work and play a role in society. Some of them, such as offering opportunities to make money, to feel valuable, and to learn important life skills, are mentioned above. However, that was a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are also a group of people who have no clear and certain reasons for working. They do work just as a habit. Sometimes, they are so attached to their work that they never think about it.