When people succeed it's because of hard work or luck?

In the modern era, discovering the main cause of success has raised a lot of debate among people. Some people hold the view that success is caused by luck. They believe that the luckier you are, the more likely you are to achieve your goals. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and argue that the quality of being successful is not caused immediately and accidentally and is the result of several years of endeavors. I personally favor the latter opinion over the former one. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason is that as far as I know, all famous celebrities mostly attribute their success to the hard work and efforts they have made. Other factors like genetics, social class, and training may indeed be partly responsible for someone's success. However, these parameters are shared by a myriad of people, so why do only a few humans thrive in their professional or academic careers? What distinguishes flourishing people from others is the level of effort and perseverance they devote to their work. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo, one of the most popular and prosperous contemporary athletes and a role model for a large number of juveniles throughout the world, is widely known for the severe physical exercises he has done since his childhood. Had he already gave up his efforts, he could not surely have maintained his physical fitness at such a high standard.

The second reason is that from my point of view, although luck has temporary and intermittent consequences, hardworking can result in long-lasting benefits that continue to exist even throughout the whole someone's lifetime. What guarantees your permanent success is the amount of energy you have put into an activity. Not only does hardworking directly help people pursue their dreams, but also it gives them a lot of confidence that allows them to overcome obstacles and move forward. The effort actually acts like a torch that lights the way to success. That's why people who merely have an uncanny knack for thriving in an activity may once reach a certain level of success. However, they will ultimately be forgotten as the short-lived results of their natural talents start to disappear.

Lastly, the key to success is making use of special knowledge, experience, and skills essential for that particular type of work while trying to recognize and develop inner abilities. These items can only be achieved through making a lot of effort and showing great determination, not by chance. What makes outstanding people different from others is primarily the skills they improve over years. With such skills, people feel as if they can take advantage of highly advanced weapons during a war against potential obstacles and problems confronting them.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are a myriad of reasons that convince me to support the idea that success cannot be achieved by chance and needs a high level of effort and perseverance. Some of the reasons, such as looking at the life of successful people, permanent results of hardworking, and acquiring enough knowledge, experience, and skills, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that success entails several years of hard work.