Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes with no doubt that, different facilities in a country need improvement. Accordingly, governments usually invest money in different fields. In this regard, some people believe that governments should spend more money on public transportation, however, others prefer this money on internet access improvement. I subscribe to the first idea for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To commence with, improving public transportations, help people reduce using private cars for in-city traveling. Therefore, gas consumption will reduce and results in fewer air pollutants producing. As a result, it can help to have a better living environment. My own experience is a compiling example of this. My father has asthma. About ten years ago, public transportation was not sufficiently provided, and everyone had to use its own car. this provided a huge amount of pollutants. Thus, my father was getting worse, and used to need more medications for this. But now, regarding the improvement of public transportation, he feels far better, also he takes less medicine.

Second, traffic jam in big cities is an obvious problem. Indeed, people from urban areas complain about the time they waste in both traffic and finding a parking lot. The promotion of public transportation can help it out and dramatically decrees traffic. To put it in a vivid picture, when people utilize public transportation instead of their private car, for example, a bus, about forty people can use one bus, as a result, there would be far fewer cars in street. For instance, In my city, Shiraz, where I mentioned above, this public transportations providing much better service, encouraged citizens to utilize it. Now, in consequence, there is no traffic in the city and lots of available parking lots. If the government had not spent this money on public transportation, there would have been huge problems transporting in city now.

In conclusion, considering the foregoing arguments, I firmly believe that the improvement of public transportation is more beneficial. It is because not only does public transportation help decreasing air pollution, but also it can help to decrease traffic and increasing available parking lots.