Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Regarding the best way to get information, answers can vary considerably from individual to individual. Some people think that it is better to obtain the information whose views are similar to themselves, while others believe that acquiring the information on converse side is more critical. As far as I am concerned, my experience leads me to conclude that the later is more convincing, and I will explain why I stand the viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, only read the information that prposed by those whose opinions are similar to us causes the problem of echo chambers. Even though people might consider it can reinforce their positions on the issue, it truly restricts their visoin and makes you easily be cheated, instead. Take my experience for example, I have the strong belief toward gender equality. In the past, I only abosrbed the information that fit my position. Once I was raged by a fake which claims the government might pass a law that would damage the right of woman. In fact, the news was the fake news, and I was almost accidiently cheated by the news. The event indicates the risk of echo chamber.

On the other hands, obtaining diverse information benefits people a lot. First of all, it expands the horizen on many aspects. As long as you realize the people on opposite postion have their reasons, you are able to think the issue more deeply, widely, and more thoroughly. Futhermore, people might learn addtional knowledge on the process of looking for different information, because you still do not understand the reason why they hold this belief. For example, I am a believer on anti-nuclear-power. Yet, when I wanted to look for the information on supporting the nuclear plant, I learned a lot of knowledge about the protential benefits on the nuclear. Even though my postion remain, I have to admit that I learned a lot from the counterside.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that aborbing the information on the other side is more important that grabbing information on the same side. It is to avoid the issue of echo chamber and to aborb the information on every aspects. Hence, I believe I have substantiated reasons to support my point of view