Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It’s better to relax by watching a movie or reading a book than doing physical exercises

In the modern era, people all around the world are striving to make their lives easier and they need a type of escapism by which they can get a sense of detachment of daily preoccupations and relax. One of the controversial questions is whether people should spend their leisure time watching a movie and reading a book or taking some physical exercise. I strongly believe that it is better to do some exercise rather than other activity and I substantiate my compelling reasons in the following essay.

First, due to the hustle and bustle of the modern lifestyle, people need some activity to relieve their stress. Nowadays, people have the hectic daily schedule which puts a huge strain on their shoulders, so they are under a lot of stress and tension, however, by doing exercise, they can unwind and relax, since during the exercise our brain releases a happiness-related hormone thereby our mind can be free of our problems. Psychologists believe that those people whose jobs are stressful should participate in some physical exercise like yoga because these people are severely vulnerable to heart diseases and heart attacks. My example is the best illustration, years ago, my father was a financial manager in a company. Every month he was under a lot of pressure owing to dealing with a huge amount of money which have to be divided into different parcels. He always terrified that he could not fulfill his responsibility for giving employees’ wages at the right time. His stress level escalated and eventually, he became sick. His doctor said that he should start doing exercise regularly and he mentioned that had he done some exercise earlier, he would not have been susceptible to disease. As a result, according to medical information, it is highly recommended that everybody should allocate time to exercise to maintain their physical health.

Secondly, doing physical exercise can boost people's self-confidence. In modern cities, most people have sedentary activity, and during the day, rarely do they walk or do other activities since they have to sit long hours in front of their computer in the workplace to accomplish their obligations in a stipulated time frame. Thus, they are susceptible to obesity. According to psychologists, fat people are suffering from a lack of self-confidence and self-esteem. However, by taking exercise they can get rid of their extra body fat and keep in shape which leads to being self-confident.