Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a sense of humor?

It is obvious that humans are social creatures who establish different relationships including family, friendship, and colleague relations during their lifetime. People consider various criteria when decide to choose their friends, because friends play a crucial role in their life. I believe that it is better for individuals to make friends with people who are humorous instead of being intelligent. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my view using some reasons and examples.

I think nowadays, with the development of technology, people are so busy doing their jobs and daily activities in order to earn their living. Therefore, they need to spend their leisure time with their friends who have a happy and delightful behavior so that they provide a good time for others. In other words, making friends with these people who are witty will give a great opportunity for persons to experience an enjoyable occasion and will help them to relieve their pressure and stress and to gain enough energy to concentrate better on their activities. For instance, I have a humorous friend who has a glad character and tell me a lot of joke when I visit her. Hence, it makes to be happy and forget my problems for hours and to get refreshed and relaxed.

Moreover, I believe that having friends who have a good sense of humor makes it possible for people to feel comfortable to talk to them about their problems that they face. That is, it allows people to consult their friends about their difficulties and get help from them which will be beneficial for them. If their friends be very serious, it prevents individuals easily communicate them. For instance, my friend who has such a humor character, whenever I encounter difficult situations, I contact her and she guides me and helps me to solve my problem, while if she was a serious person, it was not very easy for me to talk with her about my issues.

To sum up, in my point of view, it is useful for people to make friends with persons who are humorous rather than those who are intelligent because of the fact that they provide a pleasurable time for them which helps them to relive their tension and stress stemmed from working pressure. In addition, it leads them to feel comfortable to tell them about their problems.