Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's a waste of money for Government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It is obvious that today with the development of technology, one of the human’s goals is to travel to space and conduct space research. Although spending a lot of money on space explorations will have long-term effects on human life and will increase human’s knowledge about outer space, I strongly believe that it is much better for governments to assign money to other important purposes which will be useful for human beings who currently live on the Earth. In the following paragraphs I will discuss my views using some reasons and examples.

I think that there are more crucial and vital problems all over the world which authorities need to investigate and solve. It is essential that governments allocate a large amount of money to more immediate and urgent matters such as lack of food resources, health services, medical facilities, education, and so on. Therefore, spending money to improve the living conditions of people has top priority over investing a huge amount of money in space research projects. For example, there are many areas around the word in which people do not have access to basic facilities including sufficient food and health care. Thus, government must first try to provide necessary services for these people and invest in improving poor people life.

Moreover, I believe that governments can allot this money to clean the environment instead of funding space explorations. The development of industries has caused destructive damage to the environment. The dirty and polluted environment is the main reasons of most of diseases. In other words, air, soil, water pollution threaten the plants, animals, and human life. Consequently, it is necessary for governments to make a huge investment in keeping the environment clean which will be useful for living organisms’ life and help them to survive. For instance, air pollution has led many people to suffer from heart and lung disease, respiratory disorders, and etc.; hence, governments should pay a lot of attentions to this issued and assign much more money to solve this problem and save the Earth.

Finally, there are many deadly diseases which scientists have not ever found any medicine to cure. As a result, governments can fund scientific institutions in order to have access more facilities to try to find way to cure these diseases.

To sum up, although doing space research will be useful for future generations, it needs an astronomical amount of money. In my point of view, it is critical for governments to spend this money to solve urgent problems that now exist on the Earth. It will not only save beings life but also protect the Earth.