Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The knowledge we gain from personal experience is more valuable than the knowledge we gain from books.

No one can deny that books considered one of the most important resources for knowledge. You may find two categories of people, some of them prefer to depend on books to improve themselves while the majority prefer to be more involved to achieve their goals. From my perspective, the opponent idea looks rational and in the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my point of view cogently.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is experience. When we are involved directly in a job or work, we will have an interesting experience regardless if it is positive or negative. This kind of experience will stay in our memory for a long time because we may fail or succeed in it and both aspects considerably left an impression on our personality. I remember a result of a survey on this issue at Baghdad university, one of the prestigious universities in my country Iraq revealed that more than 70% of people believe that their benefits from books are more than books.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating this issue is that entertainment. Each one when participating through a duty will feel like they get fun in addition to experience. On the other hand, when they read a book, they may feel a temporary enjoyable time which ends when they finished the book. For example, In one of the long waiting doctor appointment, I found an article about sky diving, which I always want to try it. When I read the article, I feel enthusiastic like a real experiment. Therefore, I booked in a sky diving center to try it. I can say it was one of the most exquisite experiences in my life, it was better than the way they describe it in the article.

To wrap it up, all the after-mentioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that both reading a book or participate in a real experience may supply us with new information. But reading a book could be considered a limited source of knowledge while actions in life could enhance our knowledge dramatically.