Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Modern technology is creating a single world culture. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

With the advent of communications and technological innovations, the world has become interconnected globally. As a result, some people believe that modern technology is creating a single world culture. I agree with this statement. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the internet has made our world smaller and turned it into a global village. With the internet, one can sit in his home and can communicate with anyone living in a different part of the world. As a result, he/she can learn about the other person’s culture, lifestyle and food habits. My own experience demonstrates convincing example of this. I have many online friends from different parts of the world. Majority of them are from South American nations like Peru, Chile and Argentina. By chatting with them on the internet, I have already learned many of their customs and traditions. I come to know about their food habits and other various aspects of their culture. Conversely, they too have learned a plethora of things about my culture and customs. Modern technology like the internet has interconnected us globally transcending national and political boundaries.

Furthermore, latest discoveries and amenities are not confined to certain regions instead they are widely accessible to people everywhere in different parts of the planet. Due to the massive development in transportation and communication technology, facilities and products specific to a certain nation or region are available across the globe. The modern transportation system made it possible for various specific products to reach people living in the farthest corners of the planet. For instance, I am an avid coffee drinker and Colombian coffee is my favorite .So I order the product through a local dealer and I am able to receive the shipment within a few days time. Modern transportation systems have made it possible for different products from different places being able in all parts of the world.

In conclusion, I strongly believe modern technology is creating a single world culture. This is because modern means of communications like the internet has interconnected globally resulting in a fusion of different cultures and also, modern means transportation have made it possible for products specific to certain countries being available all over the world.