Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The more money people have the more they should contribute to charity
In the modern era, people experience controversial and
intertwined social relationships. It is clearly understood that in
such a sophisticated world, the success and happiness of people
is related to participation of other members from various social
levels. Due to its paramount importance, scholars have tried to
elevate the effectiveness of humanitarian activities used to
enhance this complicated relationship. Opinions are divided as
to whether people from upper classes should donate specific
percentage of their money relative to their whole wealth to
charities in order to improve their societies or this idea is a waste
of money. Despite the fact that the effects of saving money
cannot be neglected, it is my firm conviction that rich people
should give their money to charities with respect to their overall
budget. In what follows, I will elaborate on my perspective.
The first vital point to bear in mind is that by giving special
percentage of their money to charities, rich people help other
people from lower social levels. In other words, the money
which is allocated to charities and then to poor people has
myriad of benefits for all the society, of which two of the most important are reducing the rate of poverty, and providing an
economic balance. To begin with, the more poverty becomes
rife in society, the higher the crime rate will be and vice versa.
Poverty is the root of all of bad and negative habits which
threaten even rich ones and their families. Moreover, by sharing
money in different social classes, there will be a financial and
economic balance among members. The more this money is
donated, the more people are able to benefit from public
equipment and infrastructure. According to the study conducted
in university of Tehran, seven in every ten people in prisons
come from poor neighborhoods, and this clearly demonstrates
the effect of poverty on crime rate. Had rich people donated
more money to them, they would have led a better and positive
life.
Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that giving
money to charities is advantageous for rich people as well. The
more they donate their money, the more they benefit from this
donation. Not only do they gain fame from humanitarian
activities, but also their money cultivates talents of educated
young generation from lower levels of society. Firstly, media
and social networks start to introduce these people as
magnificent role models of nation. Ethical people start to pay more attention to these people and as a result new and
astonishing opportunities will be provided for them. On the
other hand, poor people to whom they donated most of their
money, become fruitful and sophisticated members of society
who run the wheels of their factories. Take my personal
experience as a compelling example; I had a colleague and he
donated most of his money to build schools in poor regions of
my country. After a while, reporters from newspapers and media
interviewed him and one month later, another rich person sent
him a letter and asked him for cooperation in making a new
factory to make pumps for combined cycle power plants.