Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The more money people have, the more they should contribute to charity.

It is clear that in today's world having money play an important role in any individuals' lives. Although some people think that they should spend their money for anything but charity, I, personally, do believe that charitable donations can bring us quite a few benefits--two of which are having a good society and living a happy life--which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, the burgeoning of a community depends on people who live on welfare in which. It is evident that the less gap in terms of wealth is among members of a country, the more peaceful life they tend to live. As John F. Kennedy once said, “If a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich.” Therefore, individuals who are rich should try to eliminate problems such as poverty which is a root of all adversity. Of so great significance is this problem that it can affect the lives of all strata of a society. Moreover, wealthy people by charitable donations not only can use this excellent opportunity to help others with a monetary issue but also can bring a better life for their offspring. On the other hand, if in a society, anyone thinks only about himself or herself and does not pay attention to others, indeed, the amount of crime, theft, and murder will increase. In such conditions, rarely can be guaranteed to thrive of societies in general and individuals in particular.

Secondly, people tend to experience more satisfaction and happiness in their lives. Although some people think that by having money they can reach anything, I believe otherwise. There are concepts” such as love, friendship, kindness to name but a few in one’s life which cannot be achieved only by money. Rather, it is the donation that can bring us such good feelings. Thus, it would not be exaggerated if one says that by helping other people, he or she can experience more pleasure. The result of studies which is done in Yale University can be a concrete evidence for this claim. They show that philanthropists, who are interested in participating charities by donating their time, money, or food, have less stress and blood pressure than other people. The reason is that being kind toward others can increase the level of oxytocin in the body, which makes one feels happy and live a healthier life than others do. A person, however, without experiencing happiness how can have the motivation to continue their progress and make money. As a result, lack of contentment will be as a “missing link” for their flourish, which possibly cannot be made up for with other things.

In the light of these critical points, I strictly believe that giving money to charities is likely to culminate in benefits for both givers and people who are in need. Although some rich individuals tend to ignore low-level strata of a society, I prefer to die as a useful person rather than a rich person.