Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The more money a person has, the more he or she should give away to charities.

By and large it is of little debate in today’s sophisticated world that charities are of great importance. This is inasmuch as charities can play influential roles in a community by providing health, food, safety, etc. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of their aspects are somewhat controversial due to their prominent standing; many people wonder what organizations or who should pay more to the charities. One idea of prominence in this regard is that rich people should pay more to the charities than ordinary ones. I personally concur with it. Among many reasons one can give for this opinion two will be given and elaborated in the ensuing lines.

First of all, considering their financial situation, rich people can spend more money on such charity activities. The amount of money they can pay may help the charity to expedite its activities. Owing to the fact that ordinary people cannot spend too much on such activities, charities should wait more to save sufficient money for their projects. However, if rich people consider spending a regular big amount of money, charities can initiate their halted projects, and as a result poor people will benefit sooner.

Another interesting point which deserves some words here is that not only do affluent people can feel better by helping charities, but also they will benefit in other ways. For example, businesses can lower the amount of their tax by paying money to charities. Moreover, the more money a celebrity expend in charity activities, the more famous he or she will become. Therefore, they can assume these expenses as investing in their career. Take, for instance, Bill Gates who is a prominent person in computer industry. By establishing Gates Foundation, Bill Gates and his wife spend about 200 million dollars annually. According to their last report, between 2014 and 2016 they have provided more than 2500 African children with sufficient food.

To recapitulate, having analyzed the reasoning presented above, one can conclude that in contrast to ordinary people, rich people should give away more money to charities. This is owing to the fact that they can tolerate such expenses without any negative effects, and such activities will help them improving their business in some ways.