Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The group will be helped more by person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

By and large, it is of little debate in today’s sophisticated world that team working is of great importance. This is inasmuch as task can be accomplished with a more suitable outcome when they are done within a group. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of its aspects are somewhat controversial due to its prominent standing; many people think that a person who listens to other members’ advice is more helpful in a group, while others contend that a person who is persistent on his ideas which are different to the group’s demands is superior to the other choice. I personally consider myself among the former group. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated in the ensuing lines by giving two outstanding reasons.

First of all, having similar demands helps group attain better results. Needless to say that success in a group relies on how perfect its members can work together. If members have similar ideas, they can work more efficaciously which results in a better outcome. On the other hand, having contradictory ideas make members waste their time on trial and error. To get a most desired result, it is vital that each person expresses his or her ideas; others should consider various ideas but success achieved only if team members agree with a unique procedure.

Another interesting point which deserves some words here is that insisting on an idea makes other members indifference. Many are under the impression that in such groups, members lose their eagerness, and lessen their efforts to complete their tasks on time. Take, for instance, a basketball team in which there is a tough leader who always persists on his plans. Other members who want to play more and think that his ideas are wrong cannot convince him to change his ideas. Therefore, they have to accept his plans and because they do not agree with his plans they lose their self-confidence and as a result the whole team hurts.

To recapitulate, having analyzed the reasoning presented above, and despite various opinions, one can safely conclude that having members who have similar ideas is more fruitful to achieve an appropriate outcome. This is owing to the fact that members may lose their eagerness and confidence by one inconvincible member.