To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

By and large, it is of little debate in today’s sophisticated era that each society has its unique characteristics. Developing constantly throughout the history, each city has provided its inhabitants with ample opportunities to establish their exceptional society. Due to their distinctive characteristics each society should be studied separately. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of its aspects are somewhat controversial due to its prominent standing; many wonder what way is more fruitful in understanding the societies’ features. One idea of prominence in this regard is that studying the societies’ major cities is mandatory to understand its most paramount aspects. I personally agree with the statement to some extent. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated in the ensuing lines by giving some outstanding reasons.

First of all, although it seems reasonable that prevailing cultural characteristics of a particular society are originated from its major cities, one should consider that in today’s communicational era in which information is available everywhere, major towns imitate common features without any efforts. Therefore, large cities around the world have similar features. In order to get sufficient explicit knowledge, an avid researcher must contemplate other cities rather than only major ones in her study. Many people living in major cities had to migrate to there for many reasons. Having moved to their new living town, they brought new customs to large cities. This demonstrates that many cultural attributes are originated from rural or smaller areas, and these traditions change in the new environment when people migrate to larger cities. Thus, it is vital for researchers to look into minor cities beside major ones.

Another interesting point which deserves some words here is that major towns have their unique features that need special attention in every investigation. A comprehensive understanding about a particular society cannot be achieved only if major cities’ characteristics are included. No one can ignore these cities’ role in developing a society’s features. Take New York as an example. People living in this mega town have some distinguished attributes that other American people are bereft of such characteristics. In such circumstances it is impossible to ignore those influential cities from investigations.

To recapitulate, having analyzed the reasoning presented above, and despite various opinions surrounding this issue, one can safely conclude that considering both major and minor towns are necessary in each related study. Both have some unique characteristics which make them important in such investigations. So, in order to conduct a comprehensive study, we can suggest researchers to pay sufficient attention to both major and minor cities.