Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smart phones, video games for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

By and large, it is of little debate in today’s sophisticated era that technology is of great importance. This is inasmuch as technology has been improved significantly during the last century, and it has affected every aspect of humans’ lives. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of its characteristics are some controversial due to its prominent standing; many people concern about the effects that technology may have on children. They believe that nowadays children spend too much time playing with electronic devices such as laptops and game consoles while playing outside with their friends or with their toys would be more beneficial for their development. I personally concur with it. Among many reasons one can give for this opinion, two will be given and elaborated in the ensuing lines.

First of all, by playing with their friends, children can improve their social skills. Many are under the impression that electronic devices have prevented people from participating in society. Social networks such as Facebook and Instagram are used extensively, and allow people to communicate effortlessly. Consequently, people, especially children, prefer to stay home and spend time on such networks. As a result, they cannot learn social skills, and this may have detrimental effects on their future life. If parents encourage their children to go outside, children can improve their social interactions by making new friends or participating in discussions.

Another interesting point which deserves some words here is that playing with physical simpler toys let children to be developed both physically and mentally. Needless to say that electronic devices make children stay fixed at a certain point for many hours, focusing on devices’ displays, which can harm their body both mentally and physically. Not only do going outside and playing high activity sports such as basketball, help children improve their body physically, but also they allow children to learn social skills, teamwork, discipline, time managing, etc. Moreover, simple toys are designed to improve children’s mental ability. Hence, by playing such toys children can improve their creativity and they will learn how to solve complicated problems.

To recapitulate, having analyzed the reasoning presented above, one can safely conclude that playing outside with friends or using simple toys may be beneficial for children’s ability in many ways. Such outside activities help children to improve their social skills, mental abilities and they can also improve their bodies’ physical strength. Generally, their advantages far outweigh their disadvantages. So, we can suggest that parents persuade their children to leave electronic devices and spend more time on other activities.