Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problems to the public.

By and large, it is of little debate in today’s sophisticated world that media are of great importance. This is inasmuch as most people get daily news over media such as TV, internet, etc. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of their aspects are somewhat controversial due to their prominent standing; many people concern about the accuracy of news and believe that nowadays media pay less attention to this issue. I personally repudiate it. Among many reasons one can give for this opinion, two will be given and elaborated in the ensuing lines.

First of all, with developing communication technologies, people are able to get required information everywhere and every time they want. Needless to say that by introducing smartphones and expanding the internet access, people can communicate each other effortlessly. These availabilities let people distinguish false reports from true ones. There is no doubt that incorrect information may cause serious problems for the community. In such situations, news agencies should pay more attention to their reports since there are too many online media, which are reporting the same news, and the less accurate ones can be detected easily by people. Each single mistake made by media, shared through social networks such as Facebook and Instagram, and people will soon notice.

Another interesting point which deserves some words here is that in such competitive environment media can easily harm their reputation by a single mistake. Although news agencies which are working under governments’ supervision like CNN and BBC may have impunities against multiple mistakes, other agencies which are governed by private sectors may lose their reputation with a single mistake. Therefore, it seems irrational if such private agencies pay less attention to the accuracy of news. According to research conducted at the Michigan State University, between 2014 and 2016, 65% of new-established news agencies could not survive for more than 15 months. This investigation demonstrates that making a mistake can reduce agencies’ reputation. Consequently, such agencies cannot attract businesses for further advertising, which cause financial problems, hence bankruptcy is inevitable.

To recapitulate, having analyzed the reasoning above, one can safely conclude that comparing to the past, media are more concerned about the accuracy of their reports. This is owing to the fact that accessing online information sources, people can easily detect incorrect news. To prevent losing reputation, it seems reasonable to pay more attention to the reports.