Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The movies and television can affect societies, especially the young audience. I believe that they have a positive effect on them as they entertain them, which consequently will help them to relax. Moreover, some television programs are educational and can teach the young about particular topics.

Firstly, I think television and movies are one of those entertainments, which have potent positive effects on the brain of their audiences. The joy they receive during a show will release hormones that are associated with happiness. Besides that, the programs and shows can help the audiences to have a peaceful mind while they are watching them. As a result, they can feel energetic and fresh afterward. I have a compelling experience with this. Most of the time, when I feel exhausted or sad, I will watch an episode of a series called "Friends." After watching even one episode, I will feel energetic and motivated. The show definitely can bust my productivity during the rest of the day.

Secondly, I believe some television and movies are more than amusement. They can educate young people on a variety of topics. As the shows are more appealing to most people compared to the traditional method of educations like books, they can be more successful in delivering new information to them. Most of the time, young people spend hours watching television without noticing the passing of time. As a result, if the television program has educational content, the audience will consciously or unconsciously grasp the show's message. As young people become well-informed, they will become more successful. That will also help them to flourish in their future job. For instance, when I was in high school, I was into a sci-fi show on the television. The show was about astronomy, and the script of the show talked about comets and other celestial phenomena. By watching that show, I have learned what the theory of general relativity is and how mass can affect space and time.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that television and movies have positive effects on how young people behave and their understanding of the universe. The shows and films can help them to relax and become calm. Additionally, the shows can educate them on particular topics which otherwise they won't have the opportunity to learn about.