Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television is a great invention of this modern era that provides a source of entertainment for people. In my opinion, television and movies effect negatively more to the people than positive effects. In the following essay I intend to put forth my arguments to support my view.

To begin with, television is a part of our daily life and it effects a person in direct and intangible ways. Watching movies and television in excessive damages our health physically and mentally. In the past, people were more creative and physically fit because they were more involved into the physical activities like playing games, walking and socializing with people. However, because of television people are more confined at one place. People although learn many new things while watching movies but unfourtunately it is detoriating their health. For instance, my cousin is ten years old and he developed eyesight problem at age of four because he watched television very much. Moreover, he is getting lazier and has no interest in sports and other fun activities. Thus, this example elucidates that television and movies have more dismissive effects than the positive effects.

In addition, nowadays television provides thousand of entertainment channels for people which means they care about the money only. Previously, the content that showed in movies and television was sophisticated and thoroughly reviewed, so that it would not damage the society. However, now competition in the entertainment industry has increased so, the movies that show do not have quality that contribute for a society in a good way. Furthermore, the television contents shows violence, nudity and murders that impose destructive behavior in people. For example, my friend in the university he was a very bright student and a mature adult. After sometime his studies start declining and he got involved into the criminal activities. This is because he watched American horror story and it effect him so badly that he start emulating its criminal activities that showed in the movie. Therefore, his study and career finished as he became a criminal. This would not have been possible if he had never watched such kind of show.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that movies and television have more destructive effect than constructive effects. This is because it damages people health mentally and physically, and because the movies content are so powerful that even adults imitate them in their real life.