Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Behaviors play a major role in our society. They represent the way we interact we each other and the way we affect our surroundings as a whole. Some people support the idea that movies and television would have a negative effect than a positive one on the young people; others would disagree. In my view, I believe that movies and television are affecting children and teenagers behaviors more negatively than beneficially for two essential reasons.

First, the main reason is that movies and television shows, nowadays, increase violence within a community we live in. It will have a bad effect on our young generation's mind and their way of thinking because they are constantly vulnerable to watch violent scenes or shocking news. For example, a five years old kid in our neighborhood, recently died as he jumped from a high residential building. The scientific police officers tried to dig deeper by thinking what are the exact reasons that led this tragedic accident to happen. The first impression on the accident people had, back then, was only a normal accident happened while a kid was playing on the roof of the building. However, months later the police sociologists report indicated that there was a big chance that the boy was influenced by some cartoons that he used to watch on television. These results came after conducting several interviews with his parents and friends at the school. As you can see, the violence that our minds are exposed to on a daily basis truly has a negative impact on our behavior, especially the young ones.

Second, the other reason is that television and movies decrease the human intellectual capacities and skills. It was proven scientifically that the IQ of a human being decreases with the time by watching more and more television. For instance, the last article I read indicates in-depth this matter, where it addresses the issue by explaining that the experiment was conducted on 100 persons from different categories of a community. Basically, they had approximatively similar IQ score and they were divided into 5 groups according to the number of hours they will be exposed to watching TV. The results were unsurprisingly the same as they predicted, the most exposed group had a significant drop off of their IQ during the five years of this experiment. This taught me that television and the material that we expose our mind to can be detrimental for our mental health.

In sum, though some may oppose this idea, I genuinely think that movies and television are causing more harm than benefit in our societies. Not only will decrease our mental capacities but also it would raise the level of accidents and violence for our citizens. Governments should take radical measures by having more control and censoring objectionable materials in order to prevent