Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The news represents an important pillar in our lives. we are constantly exposed and surrounded by numerous information all day long from our phones, televisions, or even just hearing people discussing around you. Some people may support the idea that knowing about events happing around the world is important, despite the fact that it is unlikely that they will affect our daily life; others would disagree. As far I am concerned, I agree that having the knowledge about certain happenings all over the world is crucial in our lives, even if it does not concern us directly for two essential reasons.

First of all, the main reason is that it raises the awareness level of our minds. Humans share one and only planet "Earth", and they are divided into a myriad of different societies and cultures and are, at some point, connected to each other. So, understanding the other part of the news in other communities does not necessarily concern you or even is the center of your intention, it is just a piece of the jigsaw of our complex and sophisticated world we live in. For example, I remember when I about ten years old, I started to build up some kind of awareness of the world around me. One day I was watching the news on a foreign channel television and I accidentally was mesmerized by a reportage about Christmas day and the history behind this Christian events. In the beginning, it did not seem the kind of subject that drag my intention because it doesn't relate to my religion but what fascinated me was the close similarities that I discovered between two completely different religions that are connected by history. It was Jesus, or may I say "Issa" as we call him in Arabic, who was the important figure in the reportage that drags my intention because the historical events were exactly the same with some nuances but overall I understood a lot of obscure things and the big picture is much clearer. As you can see, without encountering the news of other events that are not ours, we could not understand things that are related to us but for the first sight were not.

Second, it would enhance our scientific knowledge. reading diverse news would help our minds to learn and enlarge the amount of information other that we already know. For instance, when I was studying for TOEFL, I had to get myself familiarize with a lot of foreign topics from history, geography, business, anthropology...etc, of course, for other cultural and other nations than mine because simply the test was an international one that targets all cultures and all the states over the world. I started my preparation by reading a lot of newspapers that deal with foreign subjects such as the economy of America, the pollution in China, or ancient Egypt civilization. After two months, I get rid of my nightmare that I was not capable of understanding articles from different backgrounds. This experience unveils that learning more and getting more knowledge from other news than ours is extremely beneficial for us.

In sum, though some may oppose my reasoning, I genuinely believe that keeping up with the news and events happing all over the world is very important in our lives. Not only will increase our awareness of the world we live in but also push our scientific knowledge out from the boundaries. People should acknowledge the importance of familiarizing with the world news and do not keep our minds inside a bubble zone