Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Education is an important part of our lives. Through education, people thrive and prosper in the future. Parents are always putting the education of their children first. That said, some people espouse the idea that money should be an incentive for children whenever they obtain good grades at school; others disagree. Though both are beneficial to some degree, I believe that the most rational and important idea is not to reward kids with money whenever they achieve good results in their education for two essential reasons.

First, handling money to children as an incentive would make them less motivated for the long term. Parents who tend to give their children a specific amount of money in every occasion of high grades contribute to the increase of their children desire to want more and more money. In the beginning, it would be a good and small amount but with the time it would never be enough, and kids would want more to satisfy that urge inside them. At some point, the parent would not be able to offer more, which will induce a decrease in the motivation of the children in terms of the passion toward their own studies. As you can see through this example, giving money to school-age children each time they obtain a high grade is not going to have any beneficial long-term impact.

Second, money will distort the notion of education. When parents give their children money, it will create and develop in the minds of children a non-patience attitude. Children would become more inclined to the reaction of having money quickly whenever they study well. The money will give to the children the misinterpretation of their main goal in school and why they are doing it in the first place. youngsters will become more focus on money rather than enrich their minds with culture and education, which is the greatest asset in a society. Through this reasoning, you may notice the danger of giving money to children and what may result in the future when they become blinded by money.

In sum, even giving money to children as a reward might be considered for some as a boost for their children to maintain the good result, I do not support it because of the bigger issues that may come out from it. Not only will it distort the notion of education, but also it will damage the kids' motivation toward their studies. Parents should not give money every time they show progress at school, but they rather enlighten them about their main goals at school.