Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world of education represents a fundamental part of our lives. Through education, we raise the future generation, so the quality of our teachers is the deciding factor for whether the youngsters turn to be leaders and developers of the nation or totally the opposite by producing a burden generation. That said, some people say that teachers, nowadays, are less valued by their own society; others disagree. In my view, I believe that there is no difference from the past in term of appreciation and recognition of the teacher for two essential reasons.

First, the job of a teacher noble job whether in the past, present or certainly in the future. Parents always pay great attention where their children are going to get the proper education. This means they valued the importance of the job and the ones who perform it. There is more awareness among parents to provide their kids the right education in order to thrive and achieve his or her career ambitions. Parents are in constant search of information and quandary to find the right school: curriculum, teachers academic backgrounds and the reputation of the school. As you can see, the importance and the value of teachers has augmented among the society.

Second, teachers today are more engaged. Besides their formal jobs as tutors, many of them exercise side jobs as writers, consultants, even as journalists. The status of a teacher certainly augmented with the time because we see more and more teachers occupying different jobs that are highly valued in the society. The regards of people changed compare it to the past, today people view them as not only instructors but also as rational and wise educators because they have more wide view than teachers in the past, who were characterized as parochial people. This reveals the high appreciation and respects the teacher have in the society of today.

In sum, though some may oppose my reasoning because maybe they are proponents of the improvement of education and they want to give more appreciation to the teacher, I truly believe that teachers are appreciated the same and even more than it was the case in the past. Not only because teachers are more involved in different jobs but also because the job of the teachers is and will be always respected by the society. No matter how high the level of appreciation is today, we should always seek for more improvement in our education.