Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader; 3. Say nothing.

Communication is a big and important pillar of our society. We interact with each other on a variety of subjects to transfer and exchange ideas such as meetings, tutoring, or even powwowing. That is said, people have different opinions regarding the way we should behave in terms of addressing each other when we identify an error. Some would prefer to interrupt and correct the mistake immediately; others would disagree with the point of interruption and say that is better to wait for the right moment when the discussion is ended. Or even like others, who endorse the radical perspective which is not to utter a word. As far I am concerned, I support the first group for two essential reasons.

First of all, the interruption for correcting a mistake right away would help us to avoid misunderstanding and ambiguity. In order to follow the logical track of thoughts, we have to understand each step of the information provided. Therefore, it would keep the listeners focus without losing concentration because of a misleading or incorrect information. For example, when I was in high school, my math teacher made an error in formulating a differential equation. As soon as I noticed the mistake, I made an intervention to point out the problem because if I kept my silence not only my classmates would lose track of a good information and do not understand the lesson but also the teacher would enter in a mathematical loophole, which will be difficult to track back. As you can see, correcting a mistake immediately would be much beneficial for the whole gathering members.

Moreover, it could be a turn over in certain circumstances. Sometimes, minor mistakes could play a major role in affecting the outcome in meetings, business negotiations or company conventions...etc. It means that the small error that happened during a short time could have a repercussion on a long term. For instance, my uncle worked as a manager in a construction company. One day he told me how he lost his job because of a small mistake that he made during a contract negotiation with another company. Basically, my uncle made a numerical mistake when he established the mutual contract between the two companies. Instead of charging the other company with a certain amount of money that they both agreed on, the number he wrote was much less. The contract was signed by both parties and the damage is done. The thing is that my uncle could have avoided this mistake because his assistant reviewed the contract but he did not think that the contract would be signed in a very short time, so he decided to talk with his superior (my uncle) until their next meeting. This experience taught me that delaying to report a mistake is not a good idea because it could have an astronomical negative effect.

In sum, though some people may disagree with my reasoning, I believe the best way to correct a mistake is the immediate intervention. Not only because it will avoid misunderstanding but also it could have a crucial impact in certain circumstances. People should not be taking any formal error lightly and report it with dispatch.