Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Time is an important part of our lives. If we do not exploit our time in a rational and useful way, it could have a negative impact on us. That is said, some people claim that busy parents who do not have enough time to spend with their children should use their free time having fun and playing games and sports; others would disagree by saying that they should relate that time to their children schoolwork. As far I am concerned, I support the former idea for two essential reasons.

First of all, the main reason is that spending time with their children playing and having fun would solidify the relationship bond between the parents and their children. When parents spend time with their offsprings during pleasurable activities, they will not focus on livelihood matters, so it would create a sort of a harmonious atmosphere that would lead to building a good relationship with the kids. For example, my uncle and his wife work as managers in different enterprises and they have a minute amount of free time to spend with their eight years old son. During the working days, they almost do not see each other because the parents always return home in later hours of the night and go early in the morning. Basically, they meet with their son during the weekends and it is the time when they take as much as they can to know their son better by going to the park, having a nice game at home or even attending some sports events. Thanks to this little time, they have the advantage to keep building up a strong relationship. As you can see, spending a nice time with the parents could have a positive effect on building a healthy relationship based on happiness.

Second, it would help the parents to discover their children hidden sides or personality. Parents will get closer and closer to their children when they spend more enjoyable time together and this will reveal to the parents the personality of their kids that they developed whether they are pleased with it or not. For instance, my aunt told us that her son who spend a lot of time with her during the weekends that she become so close to him. She was able to discover that her son was picking some insufferable attitudes from his friends at school such as lying, using inappropriate words...etc. Therefore, she was able to know about all this in the early stages of her child life in order to address the problems radically. This story taught me that when adults get closer to their children through the enjoyable activities, parents will get the opportunity to know their kids better.

In sum, though some people may argue with my reasoning, I believe parents should spend their spare time enjoying and having fun with their youngsters. Not only because it would help in strengthening their relationships with their kids but also it would unveil the personalities and the attitudes of their children. Parents should pay great attention to spend their free time having pleasurable activities with their own children.