Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The society we live in represents an important part of our lives. The interaction with other people affects our behavior within a community whether we experience happiness or sorrow. Many people support the claim that friendships with a small number of people during a long-term is crucial for the happiness of the person more than the making a lot of friends easily; others would disagree. As soon as I am concern, I agree with the fact that maintaining friendships with a small range of people is much beneficial for our happiness than having numerous friends in an easy way for two essential reasons.

First, the main reason is that it would create a strong relationship. Having few friends during a long period of time will definitely solidify the friendship and build up a sort of a mutual understanding. This means that the other person (friend) understand deeply in a way that he or she can provide you happiness via numerous ways. For example, in my college days, I had only two close friends that I met in the dormitory. During the academic year, I experienced difficulties to digest some courses, so it did irritate me for a while. I didn't speak to anyone regarding this matter even my two closest friends, but as we spend know each other very well they can easily assume what is bothering me by distinguishing from personal to academic issues. Therefore, They try to address my problem with delinquency according to the matter which was, in this case, providing me with extra help regarding the courses that I had issues with. As you can see, long-term friendships are important to establish happiness in our life.

Second, it would raise the level of trust between friends. When you have many friends, you cannot focus on each one of them and by consequence, you cannot have a strong trustworthy friendship. The latter would create a sort of serenity and happiness when you are surrounded by them. For instance, my uncle, a businessman who encounter a lot of people in his domain, the majority of whom he considered as close friends. One day my uncle had a business downfall, and he lost every penny because of some precipitate decisions he made during that time. Surprisingly for him was he never imagined that the myriad of friends that he had that time turned on him with such cruelty. Not only they did not offer any moral or physical help but some they stubbed him in his back because they were hatching a diabolical plan to take him down. This experience taught me that the happiness of a person comes with friends he or she trust not with the huge number of persons you have in the repertoire.

In sum, though some may oppose this reasoning. I genuinely believe that the small friendships the person have over a long period in life are much important than having so many friends that you can acquire so easily. Not only will put the basis of a strong relationship but also it would build up a solid and trustful friendship. People should care more about their establishing long-term friendship rather than getting new ones with ease.