Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education represents a big part of our lives. From the early stages of our childhood, we start our education journey until we reach the final and the highest stage which is the university. Many people would support the idea that students should be required to take history courses without any exceptions regarding their chosen majors; others would disagree. In my view, I believe that taking history classes no matter the student's area of study is for two essential reasons.

First, the main reason is that a required history course would encourage the sense of patriotism in the hearts of the students regardless of what domain are studying. During the course of the students' life in college, they will learn precious information in their domain, but the final goal for their education is to serve their countries and have the sense of great nationalism and developing their countries. History courses would provide them with the necessary feelings and set for them their main goal in life. For instance, I remember watching a documentary on television addressing this topic by making a survey about college students and their level of knowledge regarding their country history. The results were surprisingly shocking because none of the students reached 50% of correct answers. The conclusion report assumed that students are focusing more about their specialization more than what is the goal of it or may I say what is your contribution toward your country that has sacrificed everything for the upcoming generations. As you can see, history helps students to remind them about their goals and purposes.

Second, the other reason is that history courses can contribute to the student domain of study. History is involved in any discipline of study, there is not a field without having previous events of development. It gives the students a brief introduction about their discipline from where it comes and how it has attained the current level. For instance, my major was in agribusiness management field and I remember in our first year, I had an elective history class that addresses that the agricultural history in our country and the major events that occurred during the time. To be more specific the course talked about the agriculture in our country before the French colonies and explains how some modern agricultural technics where introduced during that time that did not exist before. This experience taught me that no matter what discipline the student is studying, history is very important in the student academic life.

In sum, though some may oppose the idea, I genuinely believe that history classes would be a great contribution to scholars. Not only will raise the sense of patriotism in the scientific community but also it would heavily contribute to students academic knowledge in their respective fields of study. Colleges should introduce history courses for all majors and adjust it accordingly for the benefit of students.