Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's progressive world we live in, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that television play a prominent role in people's lives. It shows different programs such movies, advertisement and so forth which each of them could affect on our behavior. Moreover, people usually spend much time on watching TV. Meanwhile, there is an intriguing debate amongst different groups of people whether movies and television have negative impact on children's behavior on not? Some people hold the conviction that TV has mostly positive effect on children's behavior because they show instructive programs and cartoons which could bring about many advantages for children. Besides, it would keep them inside home and provide a suitable atmosphere for parents to supervise their kids. Contrary to this group, others take an entirely different viewpoint, averring that movies and TV's disadvantages outweigh its benefits. As far as I am concerned, I firmly agree with the latter ones. In what follows, there will be several important reasons raised, in order to shed light on the standpoint, I am taking here.

The first and foremost reason which comes to mind to substantiate my vantage point is that it could cause some antisocial behavior in kids. Usually, movies and TV programs have violence and vulgar language in themselves and children due to their ages have a habit to imitate the things they saw. As a result it could cause them to learn the vulgar languages or show violence in school or with their friends. Recently, an empirical study has been conducted in my country, Iran, to show the effect of movies on children. In the study, some primary school students were asked to watch a movie. There was some bad world in the movie which students have not heard those before in their lives. The results of this survey have shown that 50 percent of them used those words after watching movie. This puts more evidence behind the fact that TV and movies could have detrimental impact on children.

Another significant reason which should be taken into consideration is that TV and movies could change the living style. Today the life of most children are stationary, that is to say that they use to sit on the couch and watch TV instead of running around the home and other similar activities which a kid must do to develop his or her mind and body in decent way. In addition, this could have very bad effect on their health, since just sitting on a place could cause several diseases such as obesity and diabetic. This will be more bold when we know that the constantly the number of children who are addict to TV is increasing. Actually, one study in Middle-East which has done by scientist has shown that today more than 75 percent of children between 7 to 12 years of age are spending more than three hours per day on the TV.

In a nutshell, on the basis of the points mentioned above, it is rational to draw a conclusion that movies and television could have more negative effect on children's behavior; because it could make some antisocial behavior in them such as violence. Furthermore, it could have bad impact on their health since it could change their living style from an active style to a passive one. It is a matter of time one finds above discussion convincing enough to reach a common understanding of the issue which has just been expressed