Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don't know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

A controversial issue relating to whether nowadays people help other people more than in the past, has brought to the attention of relevant people. Many people think that in the past the spirit to help people in need was higher than it is today. On the contrary, in my opinion, individuals have more empathy for poor people today than they had in the past.

First of all, increased incomes and well-beings have made possible for people empathizing more with poor conditions of people. To be more specific, if people received a reasonable amount of salary, they would tend to help others in need. For example, during my academic years, my family had a tight budget. They tried to help me financially as much as they could, but still it was not enough for covering my expenses. Of course, during those years my family never thought about helping other people. After I graduated, I found a good job with a high wage, which I used it helping not only my family, but also some of the poor families in my neighborhood. I helped them by providing free meals for a couple of months. On the other hand, if I had have paid less, I would not have helped these people. Overall, this tells us that nowadays people with high incomes will think more of helping people in need.

Furthermore, with the development of technology, people are becoming more motivated to do good in this world. In fact, individuals are encouraged by advertisements that they see everywhere to help poor people by denoting goods to them. For instance, my brother has a high paid job, and he easily could afford helping people that need help. Actually, he never thought about doing such a thing. One day he saw an add on TV that encouraged people to give to poor. After he thought through this possibility, he just donated two of his salaries to the community church, which has designed a program, so that they could help the poor people not only in our area, but also in the entire city. According to this example, technology really plays an important role on encouraging people who never thought to donate before, even if they can afford such a thing.

In conclusion, people tend to donate more today than they did in the past. This is because their incomes are drastically increased in recent years. And because, the new technology has developed forms of adds that have a positive impact on people's decision- making of helping people in need.