Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A controversial issue related to whether students should take a year off after completing their high school or not, has brought to the attention of young people. Some students believe that they should not take the entire year off because they unnecessarily will waste a lot of time. However, in my opinion, students better take a year off after graduating from high school.

First of all, taking one year off is a reasonable time to reflect on what students prefer to do in their lives or which profession they think will pursue. This amount of free time would help them to interact with the real world by working as part-timer or even volunteer in jobs that they like. For example, my experience as a student, who took a year off after graduating from high school is a compelling example of this. About three decades ago, when I finished high school, I decided to take a year off before I enrolled in college. I was not sure what to pursue as my career chose. I started working as a part-time on my father's pharmacy because I wanted to see, if I was going to like that profession. After I saw what in real a pharmacist does, I decided to choose pharmacy as my field of study. Therefore, if I had never worked at my father's pharmacy, I would not have set up my mind to become a pharmacist. That is why, students should take off, so they could try to reflect on what is the best for them.

Furthermore, taking a year off after completing high school would help young students to have enough time to travel to all over the world and gain a broad knowledge about different cultures. Knowing about foreigner cultures, students would realize and better understand their own culture, and that will influence their decision-making. For instance, statistics have shown that students who had the opportunity to travel before attending universities had a clear mind what they wanted to do in their lives. Compare that with their counterparts, who did not take a break. Some of them actually, changed their study field the second year of their studies. According to this report, young learners should travel abroad to open their minds and better understand what they would like to study.

In conclusion, students should take a year off after graduating from high school. This is because they will have enough time to face the real world, and because traveling will help them to better clear their mind and come up with good decisions about their future.