Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that the opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, younger people are more vulnerable to peer pressures, and standing on the same side of celebrities allows them to look cool in their groups. For example, a lot of students nowadays spend a large amount of money on clothes from trendy brands only because celebrities are promoting them, and owning merchandise of such brands attracts their friends' attention and may even make them a star in school. On the other hand, older people do not desire others' attention. What they only need is comfortable clothes that make their lives easier.

Secondly, younger people have fewer personal experiences to deal with terrible situations, and listening to the opinions of celebrities provide them the solutions. For example, when a controversial issue occurred in Taiwan in 2019, many celebrities expressed their thoughts about the issue as soon as possible. At that moment, a lot of young people hold the same opinions as the celebrities' when others asked for their thoughts, and most of them said that they can't think about it on their own due to the lack of experiences.

Lastly, younger people are more exposed to social media where celebrities express themselves, so it is easier for the younger generation to be influenced. For example, I am glued to instagram where my idols post their opinions everyday, so I would definitely notice them once they have any new articles. However, older people are less connected to social media, so generally speaking, the opinions of celebrities are not important for them at all because they do not even know what the celebrities just said.

Therefore, I definitely agree that the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than they are to older people for the reasons mentioned above. Younger people care more about their friends' thoughts, they have less experience thinking about things by themselves, and they are more exposed to social media nowadays.