Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, safety are important for happiness, but owning the ability to make many friends easily may cause risks on people's safety. For example, my high school classmate, Bob, has the ability to make a lot of new friends easily. Once, he made a new group of friends with bigger ages and hung out with them every day. A few months later, he got stabbed on his belly during a fight with others and stayed in the hospital for three months to recover. The reason of the accident is that the group of friends were actually in a gang.

Secondly, people need to express themselves, and having the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time can help them do so. A small number of long-lasting friends are actually the friends who know you the most and can give you comfort when you are upset. For example, I broke up with my ex-girlfriend when I was in high school, and I was really sad and emotional. I then chatted with my friends and got better after the conversation, because they are my close friends for a long time.

Last, people nowadays are busy, and maintaining friendships instead of making new friends can save a lot of effort. For example, if a person only needs to maintain relationships with their friends, he/she may feel more comfortable because they already know what his/her friends think very well. However, if a person makes new friends in a short time, he/she has to get familiar with his/her new friends each time meeting the new friends, and that needs a lot of effort.

Due to the three reasons mentioned above, I believe that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important.