Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is well-known that education plays an important role in our life. Nowadays, home education is becoming more and more popular and many believe that they can do a better job than professional teachers. However, in my opinion, parents are not the best teachers for their children because of such two main reasons as lacking teaching skills and social environment.

To begin with, almost parents have a lack of knowledge and teaching methods which may negatively affect to their children’s development both behavioral and intellectual. First and foremost, parents usually think that they have enough knowledge and experience in life to teach their children those the school and class fail to give them. However, the knowledge and information is updating day by day while almost parents normally have stopped their schooling life for around 10 years, so that, they cannot keep following the updated rate and all they gave for their kids just “out-of-date”. In the other hand, teachers were trained to be good for offering students with updated knowledge sources and professional performance. Besides that, teachers, having the teaching experience as being tied to this education job for many years, seem to do better rather than parents do. Secondly, teaching method is one of the most important feature that home schooling fails to grow kids. In particularly, most parents think that their children are the smartest and the most extraordinary in the world. They usually have a bias toward their children and seem to ignore kids’ mistakes. As a result, they will keep those mistakes until grown up which may lead to serious consequences in the future. Meanwhile, the teachers, who work with many children and get used to with the job, they can have better teaching methods and objective assessment rather than parents. To be more precise, everybody has an area that they are good at, so parents may not be the best teachers of their children.

Also, school functions as a social environment to improve kids’ self-development. In fact, children can learn many things when going to school such as gaining self-confidence, social skills, relationships and experiences. Those cannot be developed when studying at home or in a closed environment. Moreover, personally, I think that it is not fair to keep your children at home while their friends are going to school, having new friends, learning more skills and getting experiences. Keeping your children at home may make your kids lose chances to expand their social circle, for example having a close partner to share things in life. This will put a lot of pressure on your kids and cause them feeling alone. To conclude, home education may be not an ideal environment for support kids for their self-development at all life aspects.

In conclusion, without a good social environment and lack of teaching skills, home schooling is not the best choice for children to get all they’re deserved to have, in another word, children should go to school to accumulate updated knowledge and get comprehensive development.