Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past young people depended on their parents for making decisions. Today, young people are better able to make decisions on their own.

The life we live nowadays differs completely from the life my grandparents lived. Some individuals say that independence is a term well-applied since previous years. However, in my view, today teenagers are much more independent of parents than ever before in so many ways.

To begin with, people in the past inhabited the same house with relatives until older ages. In past years, the concept of leaving the house was strictly related to marry. When a person decided to get married to another, then he/she could go of the home to start a new life. However, this idea has completely changed today. For example, after graduating of a young age, 23 years old, I decided to rent my own apartment, even though I was single. I wanted to live my own life with my rules. This meant that I could get home anytime instead of providing an explanation to my parents. As a result, I became independent of my mother since young. I am sure that 50 years ago I would not have been able to go home single.

Another difference in today's life is the decision of choosing a field of study. Years ago kids had to study what the parents thought was the best for them, but this idea has also made a radical turn. For example, my mother wanted my sister studied education. In this way she was going to be responsible of my mother's school. Nevertheless, my sister had other interests, so she avoids studying to be a teacher. Instead, she became a doctor, which is something she wanted and loved to do it. Perhaps, some years ago, my sister could not have decided her career instead she would have followed my parent’s orders.

Finally, today teenagers are independent in the decision making regarding to marry. My grandmother has told me that in her era women were not allowed to choose the person to get married. Instead, the father would say the right person for her. Therefore, they had to follow her parents order and got married to a stranger. However, this situation is so different nowadays. People fall in love, so they decided a person who shares the rest of their life with. For example, I wanted to be forever with my current husband, even though my father did not like him. We live in a society today that we choose our love no matter what. Thus, that is a significant difference of how independent young people are today from young people in past generations.

To sum up, for all my reasons above, I definitely concur that youths are much independent today than ever before. Although we still follow the rules of our society, we don't let anybody decide the path of our life. Thus, nobody says what to do and how, but your own belief.