Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that young people today are better able to make decisions about their own lives than they were in the past. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, young people today have easier access to information, and that makes them own more ability to make decisions about their lives. For example, when I applied for college at the age of 18, I searched the information about the universities I wanted to attend and a lot of experience sharing from students from those colleges via the Internet. Therefore, I could easily choose what colleges I preferred most and what programs attracted me more only by myself without any advice from my parents at all.

Secondly, young people nowadays have their own ideas due to the society filled with opportunities, and that definitely allows them to make their own decisions for their lives. For example, my friend Tom always wants to be a pianist which his parents do not like. They believe that being a pianist will not make enough money for his life and would finally make people live low quality lives. However, Tom insists on his own opinion because he thinks that every job nowadays has a bunch of opportunities to succeed due to the flourishing economy.

Lastly, young people today are more exposed to the values that people should make their own choice for their own happiness, and that absolutely affects what young people believe. For example, a lot of advertisements and commercials nowadays are about the aspects of 'fighting for yourself', 'living your own life', etc. Young people seeing such information every day would potentially be influenced and, hence, their behaviors would become more consistent with the values and finally have more ability to decide what their lives are going to be.

Thus, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally agree that young people today have more ability to make their own decisions than in the past.