Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It’s hard to deny that many young people in China have the tradition to listen to their parents’ advices about their future, and such a custom may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that young people should rely on their parents to make decisions of their career. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as knowledge, horizon, and experience are concerned, I strongly hold that young generation in China are better to make the decisions about their future on their own.

First and foremost, the young men nowadays have further knowledge than their parent generation due to the great development of education in China. Take digitalization as an example, which the young generation is quite familiar with while their parents can hardly understand it, how could it be possible for people who don’t even have the adequate knowledge to make the right decision?

Furthermore, the fact that the young generation have more access to the world than the past indicates that young men have broader horizon than their parents. Take the case Chinese college students in the 1990s, who attend universities and have better accesses to abroad. Many of them choose to study further in famous foreign colleges and such precious experience broads their horizon. As a result, they can make more objective and rational decision on their career. Had it not been for the process of broadening their horizon, they would never examine their future from a higher perspective.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that parents have experience which has deposited for their whole life and the experience is always so right that the young generations should follow their advices as a tradition. Ironically, as David Hume suspects, how can experience be true for the things that don’t happen? Conservative Chinese emperors in Qing dynasty can never imagine the picture that he will be abolished during the revolution. Therefore, experience is limited to one’s status and knowledge which means it is always subjective. The young generation should make their own decisions.

In a nutshell, I maintain that young people are better able to make decisions about their own livings. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from James Madision goes, ‘as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed’, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.