Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past few years, the issue whether more young people in nowadays depended on their parents to make decisions or not has kindled heated debate among people. Depending on different personal experience, we find that a number of people hold the idea that much more young people get rely on their parents now. However, given a chance, I tend to support the statement that fewer young people are depending on their parents.

First, as for me and my friends, we are trying to be away with our parents in daily life, because it will help us become more independent and get used to society quicker. Take my good friend john as an example, he is a boy who always refuses his mother whenever she would like to offer some help. Though he says it is hard to do all the things by himself, it does have some advantages when his parents have passed away one day. Because if he is always asking parents for help, he will lose the ability of surviving on his own. You can see, it’s not a wise idea that asking your parents do everything for you, because you can not do things like this every day all the time you need.

Second, we have much more methods of gaining knowledges which we could used to overcome some difficulties than before. Nowadays we have internet which is based on personal computer and we could use them to search information about everything we want to know. While in the past, young people could only ask others for help or went to the library and bookstores, which was not an efficient way of gaining knowledges. For instance, I cut my fingers last week by mistake, and I searched for the first-aid methods on my phone. At last, I covered my fingers with alcoholic and bandage, and the whole things had cost me less than 10 minutes. On the contrary, my father once told me that he had been bit by a dog when he was a high school student, he could only ask his teacher for help because nobody knew the way of dealing such things at that age of his generation.

Granted, to some extent, parents are much more reliable than ourselves. However, nowadays young people have known that the more they are trying to solve problem by themselves, the more independent and more intelligent they will become. Therefore, there are more convincing reasons for me to believe that fewer and fewer young people are still depending on their parents to make decisions.