Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making a right decision is one of the most important and challenging part of our life that sometime affect whole of it. It is said that youths make decision more independently than the past where their parents usually told them what to do. Personally I agree with this statement and in the following essay I try to provide my supportive reasons for that.

First of all, nowadays young generation are more educated than the past. Therefore, they acquire sufficent information and even adequate experience to recognize what is good for them and what is not. As a result, they do not see any reason to ask their parents when they make decision about their personal and professional life. In addition, in many countries, in the school it is taught to students to think and perform independent of their family as this is one of the most crucial ability for everyone to learn.

The second reason is that, nowadays there are lots of consulting centers and we can use the suggestions and the knowledge of experts working there. As far as I know, young people would rather get advice from consultants who are expert in this field and they do not know them in person. My own experience is a compelling example of this. About six years ago, when I wanted to make a decision about my major in university I went to one of this centers. After answering some questions, I understood that studying science is the best option for me. If I had got advice from my parents I would probably pursuing my study in engineering, which is kind of tradition in my family. Indeed, I am happy now that I did not make my decision based on my family advices.

In conclusion, I hold the opinion that nowadays young generation less and less prefer to consult with their parents about the decisions they would like to make.