Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays receiving proper education in school seems to be essential. Because of this, some parents use different kinds of persuasive techniques to encourage their children to score high marks. One of these ways is giving money, which I, personally, do not agree with. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I try to explain in the following essay.

First of all, learning new things and skills is important by itself. If parents offer their children money for acquiring good marks, the children will not perceive the value of knowledge. Under this circumstance, the students, instead of paying attention to their lessons, concentrate on the ways they could get money from their parents. Having said that, however, I think the other ways to cheer children up for their good grades, such as going to the zoo or cinema, are not as destructive as giving money to them.

Secondly, the students should learn that they study for the future of themselves and they should not expect encouragement for every single task that they do properly. Understanding this fact not only help them to improve their grades but also help them to be an independent character in their personal lives. In other words, when a child receives money for getting good marks he starts to believe that his parents are those who really profit. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I remember well my cousin who his father gave him a significant amount of money for each achievement he had in school. As a result, he got used to this procedure and even when he was a grown man he was constantly seeking praise from others. And of course, this behavior bothered his wife and his acquaintances.

To conclude, I strongly believe that although some of the persuasive techniques might be useful and noteworthy, giving children money for their high marks in school is not a good idea. More importantly because money can shadow the other values in life and accordingly the children miss the chance to have a healthy and happy life at their very young ages.