Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The young people freestanding and their freedom in the decision-making process is one of the most controversial topics between social scientists and even common people. Annually many books and articles are published to deal with it, which is a sign of the subject's importance. Some people are of the opinion that in the past decision making for young people was easier in comparison to these days, while I believe that today's youth are more independent, I feel this way for three reasons which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, in the past most of the people were farmers and they have lived in large houses. Usually, young persons assisted their father in the farm's work which indicates they were entirely depending on the home's maters; moreover, they were confined to follow their fathers’ careers. For example, my grandfather when aimed to find another job his father opposed with him and did not allow him to follow his way, my grandfather usually mention it as one of the worst memories in his life; however, nowadays boys and girls use their parents as an advisor; however, the final decision is made by themselves.

The second reason, in the past the only experienced and knowledgeable people were parents and elders; as a result, young people were capable to get some information by visiting them. But these days information is ubiquitous; additionally, you are able to obtain a large amount of information just in a minute; moreover, sometimes I help my father in his decision-making process because he believes my information is vast and fresh which on the whole view it gives rise to a better result. Some days ago, I read an article from a major journal that stated the amount of information we are perceiving in each day is more than the total information that in the past people had received across 20 years.

These days there is a wide variety of jobs; the number of jobs is more than ever. As an example I found my first job at 18 easily, therefore I do not depend on my father's money and fund. I have the power to choose my interests and do a wide variety of hobbies without any parent intervention.

To wrap up, I support the idea that is stated today's young people are more convenient and independent in their choices, because they can easily find a career, they can get a bunch of information in their hand-held devices and there is nor limitation to do a special work like their fathers.

The reading and the lecture both argue about bees' existence in 200 million years ago. The author of the lecture based on piece of evidence feels there are three reasons to disapprove of bees' presentation at that time, on another side, the lecturer challenged reasons made by the author, she is of the opinion that none of the author's reasons are valid; probably bees could have been on the earth at that time.