Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In universities, beside major course, students should have some lateral classes. Taking the history course is one of those courses that in many universities, without respect to the field of study, is essential for graduation; however, some people criticize this way, they are of the opinion that students should only focus on major courses. Personally, I believe that taking history course for any one could be helpful. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, studying history helps us to love our country and proud of it. By history we will have a solid understanding of our country that eventually will lead to a good motivation for us to study and try more. By reading scientists and great people’s life history, maybe we find our interests; moreover, some times these people’s history are able to affect our personality and raise it. For instance, when I was an elementary student, in history class by reading about Denis Ritchie life, I have been interested in computer science and algorithms and decide in the future to be a great computer scientists like Professor Ritchie.

In a nutshell, one of the advantages of taking history class is that it has a big power in motivation and directing mind to find our interests.

History is a great teacher for humans; most of events along the human history are repeated. By awareness of history, we are capable to have insight about the future; we can prevent the occurrence of bad events; furthermore, learn from a lot of experiences that are written in history books. Some days ago, I read an article from a major journal, a tough mathematical problem that for a long time scientists had been trying to solve it, have solved by a method from a historical book belong to 500 years ago. This obvious example, depicts that history is like a magical mirror, we can see the past and future. Now with this great tool, we are able to make better decisions.

Taking history course has some advantages for students. History can induce them to be more efficient and hard worker; in addition by digging scientists' life find their interest field. Finally, we can learn from history and use of a bunch of experiences that presented in history books.

In conclusion, I think it is essential for each student to be aware of history and his/her country’s great people.